Quechup Spam

I arrived home last night to an inbox that was, amongst other things, full of invitations to Quechup.com, a so called social networking site. Thing is, I don't really have any interest in yet another Facebook or LinkedIn clone site and so I declined the offer. Not wishing to appear rude I sent a quick note to the people inviting me, saying thanks, but no, thanks. Seems that was a good idea. This morning David St. Lawrence wrote back:

You are smarter than I was!

Do NOT follow up on that invitation. It is bogus and is the product of a spammer.

Here is the article I wrote about it yesterday:

SPAM WARNING - BEWARE OF QUECHUP
UPDATE: My inbox is full of email from people on my contact list who have received these bogus invitations from Quechup. I apologize for the inconvenience. See the story below:
The latest scam to hit the Internet is Quechup.com. 
They are generating spam that supposedly comes from your friends.
If you receive an email from me or anyone else inviting you to join Quechup, delete the email and DO NOT Sign UP.
I received an invitation supposedly from another blogger and while I was checking the site out, Quechup has mailed an invitation from me to everyone in my email address book, even though I expressly requested that they should not do so.
Quechup claims to be a "social network."
It is owned by iDate and is actually some sort of dating service. 
Don't go there and don't bother to check it out.
You will definitely regret it.

So, if you too have received multiple Quechup invites, don't bother following up, unless you're planning on spamming all of your contacts.

|